SAARC (The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation), Objectives, members and origin of SAARC



The global and fundamental terms of the world has been changing now a days. The importance of peace and development through effective regional and global integration has become an important factor of today’s world. Military and defense capacity of any state is no more measured the strength and development but, states are represented in terms of how a state is able to promote trade relations, investments and economic integration within the region and globally as well. Wealth of human and material resources, coupled with historical backgrounds, geographical commonality of social and political norms of development led towards the promotion of good relations between the south Asian nations, which helped to establish a platform in which they can be represented as a single unit. It is important to note that the main idea behind the formation of an organization was the promotion of political, economic and social interaction between the nations.

Origin of SAARC

SAARC (The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) established on December 8, 1985. It is headquartered in Kathmandu, Nepal. It is an organization of South Asian nations. For the promotion of social, economic and cultural development within the region of South Asia and also for friendship and cooperation with other developing countries. The governments of Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Maldives, Bhutan, India and Sri Lanka formally adopted its charter. SAARC was established with the objective of improving the standard of living, cultural and regional economic growth and increasing cooperation and strong ties with other regions of the world. SAARC helped to develop and sustain the cooperation among the members, since its formation the level of cooperation among the member countries increased substantially in the region. Realizing the importance of regional cooperation and development in its resent years, SAARC members have created a sense of accelerating regional economic development and advocate revival of the organization by moving from just the issuance of declarations to practical implementation of the plans and policies to turn this weak region into a potentially developed one.

Members of SAARC

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka

Observers States to SAARC,

(i) Australia; (ii) China; (iii) the European Union; (iv) Iran; (v) Japan; (vi) the Republic of Korea; (vii) Mauritius; (viii) Myanmar; and (ix) the United States of America.

The Objectives of the SAARC

To promote the welfare of the people of South

To promote and strengthen collective self-reliance.

To contribute to mutual trust.

To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance.

To accelerate economic growth.

To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries.

To strengthen cooperation among themselves in international forums

To cooperate with international and regional organizations

Areas of Cooperation

  • Economic, Trade and Finance
  • Social Affairs
  • Information and Poverty Alleviation
  • Energy, Transport, Science and Technology
  • Human Resource Development and Tourism
  • Agriculture and Rural Development
  • Environment, Natural Disasters and Biotechnology


  1. I juѕt could not leave your website prior to suggesting that I actually loved tһe uѕual information an individual supply on your visitors?

    Is going to be aցain οften to inspect new posts

  2. you’re in reality a excellent webmaster.

    The web site loading velocity is incredible.
    It seems that you’re doing any unique trick.
    Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you have
    performed a great job in this matter!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here